2nd XV - Match centre

Carrick 2's
Randalstown 2's
Sat 26 Nov 15:00 - Cup Full time

Carrick 2's 42 - 0 Randalstown 2's

Randalstown 2nd XV travelled to Carrick on Saturday to take on their 2nd XV in the Crawford Plate.

After being defeated by a very strong Instonians 2nd XV in the Crawford Cup, the team were dealt another tough hand when they were drawn against a second Junior League 1 opponent in as many games in knockout competitions.
It was always going to be a tough ask and it proved to be right from the off. Prop Jack Hampton was forced off early in the game after he manfully tried to play through illness that had struck him down during the week.

Randalstown threw everything they had at their opponents but the huge Carrick pack suffocated any attack that the visitors attempted and their slick backline punished ‘Town for any small mistake as they ran in five first half tries to lead 32-0 at the break.
The first 40 had come as a shock to the system for Randalstown as it showed that teams at higher levels punish you severely for a missed tackle or a dropped ball. Captain Sammy Hyndman was also under the weather all week and was withdrawn at half time so captaincy duties were handed to his second row partner Connor Ferry.

The second half was a much improved performance from the men in red and white as they dominated possession but unfortunately lacked that killer edge to get over the try line.

Defensively the team was excellent too as Carrick’s big runners who had so much success in the first half had no such luck in the second.
Two late scores added a bit of gloss to the final score for Carrick as they ended up 42-0 winners. They were a fine example of the level that Randalstown want their 2nd XV to be at. With the team currently sitting second in Junior League 3 they are most certainly on the road to getting there and the second half showed that they are certainly capable of competing with teams in the upper echelons of junior rugby for extended spells in games.

TEAM: Michael O’Connell; Jonny Fullerton; Ryan O’Dea; John Adair; Ben Winter; Matthew Turner; Malachy McIvor; Amit Jayaprakash; Pedro Conceicao; Jack Hampton; Sammy Hyndman (Captain); Connor Ferry; Mark Strange; Stephen Carey; Phil McLean; Replacements: Ben Hamilton; Shane McLaughlin

Team selection

Team selection has not been published for this fixture yet.


Loading comments

Team sponsors

Club sponsors